找回密码

Air Supply空气补给中文网 | 华人全球唯一空气补给乐队中文论坛

查看: 3745|回复: 0

Utah entrepreneur tours world with Air Supply, conquers app store

[复制链接]
发表于 2016-1-22 07:11 来自手机 | 显示全部楼层 |阅读模式
images.jpg
Editor's note: This article is part of KSL's App of the Week, which features a different app with Utah ties each Thursday. Send tips for future articles to ddewey@ksl.com.

SALT LAKE CITY — Utah's CJ Burton has been a drummer since the age of five. Music production came later. Now, he's a tech entrepreneur.

In between, Burton toured the world for several years with the popular band Air Supply.

"I started playing locally in Salt Lake City, and just played with everybody — played every style," Burton remembered.

He taught music in Salt Lake City for fifteen years and caught session work when he could. Air Supply's current bass player is from Utah and the two met doing session work. When the position opened up for a drummer to tour with Air Supply, CJ Burton got the call. That tour ended in 2012.

Since that time Burton has built his own music production company, Active Media Production Group. He developed on online music collaboration tool called Web Pro Music. Burton has recently been finishing work on a studio album with country artist Nate Rogers.
Burton is excited about the finished product.

"I couldn't be happier with it and the fact we did it all online and nobody, at any given time, was in the exact same room," he said. "Everything you hear on the album was done in completely different studios all around the United States."

One thing led to another and Burton's technical work in the studio focused his attention on another glaring need in the music business. Many people attend concerts or stage productions, but few understand the logistics that go into placing every piece of equipment and microphones in just the right place to maximize acoustics and production value.